There’s No Turning Back Now…

Today’s run was great.  I’m up to three miles now as seen on my Running Log.  I was able to go  6.0 comfortably for the final half-mile of my run this morning.  I jammed out to Bruce all morning (aka – I had this song on repeat for my whole run). 

I just love it!  I find when I have the same song on repeat, I’m able to let my mind wander (while still getting pumped by the music).  At about 1 minute into that video is where it gets “running” good! 

My other favorite running song: this guy (especially the Slane Castle version).  About 1:15 into this video, it just makes me want to jump around!

Right?!!!

Back to running, this week’s running goal:  adding incline on my Thursday and Saturday runs.  Next week’s running goal: increasing my speed until I get to 6.0 or 6.2 comfortably (while keeping the incline).  I’ll keep you posted on how that works out.

I can’t wait for the warmer weather, so I can run outside!  It will also be more realistic than running on a treadmill, plus there’s fresh air.  The extra, extra bonus is that I won’t have to lug all my work gear to the gym and cram my ironed clothes into a tiny locker. 

Oh, March… please get here faster (without any snow)…

Speaking of running outside…

I signed up for my first official 10K!  Sunday, April 15th, I’ll be putting my hard work to the test at the 19th Annual Nashua Soup Kitchen & Shelter race

In my mind, once I pay for it… there’s no turning back.  I’m thinking it will be a good check point for me to see how my training is going.  I’m hoping to sign up for a half-marathon to actually test/reward myself for my hard work.  Once I get further into my training, I think I’ll have a better idea if May is too soon, or if it’s juuuust right.

Questions of the Day:

What is your favorite song to run or workout to?

Do you have any upcoming events that you’re excited about?

5 thoughts on “There’s No Turning Back Now…

  1. Good for you on the training! I have also signed up for my first 10K, the Ukrop’s Monument Ave 10K in Virginia (have to fly from Boston for that one!), but I am nowhere near ready for it. Right now, all my training involves doing 5Ks on the weekend then half-hearted gym workouts during the week. Thanks for inspiring me to step it up!! My favorite song of the moment is the Beastie Boys’ Sabotage! Great beat. Happy running!

    • Thank you so much for your comment! Congratulations on signing up for your first 10K. I checked out your blog and was cracking up. Love it! I will definitely be following your training and all your posts! Thanks again!

  2. Pingback: Discoveries: Awesome and Not-So-Much « My Healthy Road

  3. Pingback: To Gu or Not to Gu « My Healthy Road

  4. Pingback: 10k – Done and Done « My Healthy Road

Leave a Reply

