Milestone

It was a quite busy week!   I had a wedding this weekend, more than a few late work days, a doctor’s appointment and an acupuncture appointment.  When I have late work days, I find it so hard to get up the next morning to get to the gym.  My mind takes a lot longer to unwind, and I cannot fall asleep as I normally do.  Sad to say that I only made two of my scheduled three runs this week, so I was a little nervous about Saturday’s 3.5 mile long run.

Still… I knew I had to get it in.  I was planning to run outside again this week, but when my face looked like this from the wind…

Source

I decided to head to the gym.

The first mile was a little rough, but the second time I looked down at the display I was at 2.75.  Almost two miles had gone by without me realizing, and I was still going strong.  At that point, I told myself to go for 4 miles.

 And I did.  And it was easy.  I don’t know what happened, but it was awesome.  I had on some pretty mellow music compared my normal upbeat tunes.  My mind completely zoned out and my legs just kept on moving.  I feel like I could have gone for a while. It was such a new and great feeling!

Source

Beep! Beep!

I am actually looking forward to running now, which I was not sure I would ever feel.  Mile 4 was a big step for me when I created my training plan.  My next big milestone = Mile 7.  I’ll see you in a few weeks, Mr. Mile 7.  Get ready.

Question of the Day:
Do you have any big life or fitness milestones that you are looking forward to reaching?

Today I leave you with Sophia Grace.  She has nothing to do with running, but made me laugh and I had to share.  The Husband and I met some friends for dinner on Friday.  They could not stop talking about this little girl that was on the Ellen show.  We looked her up on YouTube (she has a BOAT-LOAD of videos).  It is hilarious.  She will make you smile for sure.

Happy Sunday!

14 thoughts on “Milestone

  1. Hi Sara! Great post. I feel you. I usually run about 5 -6 days a week and last week was just nuts. I only made it once! What you were describing in your post, sounds like you reached a “runners high.” And when you get there, that’s a good feeling. For me, the first 2 miles seem to go by slow and drag on, but then once I get past 4 and 5, I get in a zone and just keep running.

    My big fitness milestone for a while was to run a 1/2 marathon and I’ve been able to do that. I sign up for the same race each year to keep me honest throughout the off season. Right now, I’ve slacked off a bit, so my milestone is to be 10 lbs lighter by race day.

    • Congratulations on your Half! What a smart idea to go back to the same race each year! Good luck with this year’s race. (And I’m very impressed with your 5-6 days a week! Wow. Some day I’ll get there… some day!)

  2. I really like the question you posed at the end. I’ve raced for quite a few years and the vast majority of people I’ve raced along side of are doing it to stay fit, not because they want to win anything. They’re just simply goals and signing up for a race is a great motivator. A lot of them say that without a race to train for, they wouldn’t bother putting themselves through the workouts. Such a great thing that road races, tris, crits and other races are more common than ever before! There’s no shortage of fun community races to take part in. – Jen

    • Jen, I completely agree with you (and those other runners). Signing up for races is fun, and I’m hoping that there will be more to come in my future! Thanks for the comment!

  3. Sara, I saw in your post that you mentioned running to some mellow music during your run. I’ve always found that it is important to find music with a beat that matches your running pace. Otherwise you wind up either burning yourself out running hard to some fast beat music, or the opposite. I found a site you might like where it provides suggestions based on your mile pace… http://www.jog.fm Hope it helps. Good luck!

  4. Sara,

    I have been playing around with listening to audiobooks and my normal tunes. While listening to the softer audiobook, I feel like it is harder to kick it into overdrive when I want to. My usual music is faster and helps me get it going. Great work and I look forward to the day that I can run at 6.0 on the ‘mill. I tried to run at 6.0 a few weeks ago and I broke the treadmill…looks like I got some more work to do! -Mike

    • Thanks for the comment, Mike. I totally feel the same about music! Sometimes I want to tune out and go with mellow music to let my mind wander, but other times I love to jam out while run. It took me a while to hit 6.0. I say take your time, and enjoy the process. If you try to increase speed or distance too fast you might burn yourself out and not want to run (or it could lead to injury). You are doing great! Keep it up!

  5. Pingback: Discoveries: Awesome and Not-So-Much « My Healthy Road

  6. First off, that first picture I busted out laughing at =) Secondly, you are the second or third person that has mentioned running to mellow music, and I think I might have to try that out! I usually listen to my upbeat dance/skating rink music, but I might have to use my mellow playlist (appropriately titled “Cognitive Thinking”
    I’ll let you know how it goes!

  7. Pingback: Pump Up the Jam « My Healthy Road

Leave a Reply

