Banana-Fana Fo-Fana!

It’s been 80 degrees this past week in the Boston area!  Flip flop weather at its finest!  This warmer weather makes me think of summer… which makes me think of the beach… which makes me think of seafood… and…

Source

No, not together.

This homemade, healthy (don’t run away) ice cream could not be easier.  It has one ingredient,

(Uh huh.  That’s right.  One good-for-you banana.)

and a food processor!

I promise… it is delicious!


Banana-Fana (One Ingredient) Ice Cream 

Serves 1

Take one frozen banana* (or about 6-8 pieces of frozen banana) and put it into the food processor.

Now hold down your food processor as it is going to go CAH-RAZY when you turn it on!!!  You can start out pulsing, but I usually just let her go full-on and hold her down.  After about 3 minutes, the frozen bananas will start to look like little Dippin’ Dots.

Keep on going!

You will want to stop every so often to scrap down the sides, but then keep on, keepin’ on.  Eventually, the banana will turn into a creamy, soft serve texture.  It usually takes about 5-7 minute (sometimes I have to pulse during the last minute to make sure everything gets fully mixed).

It’s magic, and it’s wonderful.  You can eat it as is, or you can add all kinds of “extras” to it too!  Mix in a teaspoon or so of peanut butter or some frozen blueberries/strawberries while it is in the food processor.  You can even add toppings such as mini chocolate chips, chocolate or butterscotch syrup or dollop of whipped cream after it has turned into a creamy texture and just before you are ready to serve.  I’m tellin’ ya.  Good stuff.

* How to freeze the bananas:  when you get home from the store (or even when they start turning brown), take your bananas out of the peel.  Cut them into 1-2” pieces.  Put them in a freezer bag or Tupperware and store in the freezer until you are ready to use them.  They can be used in this recipe, but they are also great in smoothies!


(Lack of) Running Recap

It’s been a nutty week in our household.  We have not been home before 9:00pm most days this week.  We also have two big charity events that we are attending this weekend.  The first one was actually last night for the American Cancer Society.  It was a comedy show to raise money for my sister-in-law’s Relay For Life team.   The comedians were hilarious, and the silent auction and raffle prizes were awesome.   It was a blast!

The second event is tonight for the Merrimack Valley YMCA auction.  I’m SO excited for this event.  It is such a fun time every year, and, of course, raises money for an excellent cause!  Win-win!

One of my best friends, Zora, came to visit this weekend too!  We haven’t seen each other since January when we went to the Kelly Clarkson concert.

(Yes, I LOVE me some Kelly!  Don’t judge).

It has been great to hang out with her (Zora, not Kelly.  We wish!) and catch up.  We even fit in a walk today!  Impressive, I know.  Actually, it IS impressive for the two of us.

On a bummer note, my running definitely didn’t happen… whomp whomp.  In my mind, it was totally worth it to give myself a break during such a hectic week, and I think spending time with my friend is 100% worth it.  I know that I’ll be back on track next week.

Now I’m off to get ready to spend some moola for a great cause!  Enjoy the rest of your weekend!


Questions of the Day:

What add-ins or toppings would you add to your banana-fana ice cream?

When (or for what) will you skip a workout?

7 thoughts on “Banana-Fana Fo-Fana!

  1. Woohoo..can’t wait to try it out! Thanks for sharing the recipe..do you think my spoon will turn yellow??!!!

  2. Sara, I can’t wait to try this ice cream! I’m on a very specific diet for my UC and this fits into it perfectly (real ice cream, unfortunately, does not). I am going to add pineapple, strawberries and unsweetened coconut to mine and think fabulously tropical thoughts!

  3. Pingback: Another Year Older, Another Great Adventure Awaits « My Healthy Road

Leave a Reply

