Shoe Floozie… and a New Recipe

I am a shoe floozie.  There I said it.

As you might have noticed, I’ve change my running shoes a few times trying to find the “perfect” fit (as seen here and here).  Well, Goldilocks sure made it seem a lot easier than it actually was for me.  I’m now on Running Shoe #3.


I’ve had the new pair for a little over one month and I am committed to them.  I had previously tried two different pairs of Brooks, but now I’m running in Mizuno Wave Riders – Version 15, to be exact.   (The store that I got them from did not have the awesome blue color – otherwise you know I would have been ALL over them!)

They are much firmer than the last two pairs that I tried out.  At first I wasn’t sure about them because I thought the cushioning in the Brooks shoes would help out my aches and pains, but it didn’t pan out that way.  My hips were KILLING me after each run, but now the pain as decreased a lot.  Two thumbs up for Mizuno!

New Recipe!

In other news, I discovered a yummy and light salad dressing recipe on AllRecipes. I adapted it slightly for what I had on hand and for my own taste buds preferences.

Mustard Vinaigrette
Slightly Adapted from This Recipe

Ingredients
• ½ cup white vinegar
• 1 Tbsp honey
• 1 (heaping) Tbsp dijon mustard
• ½ tsp pepper
• 2 tsp salt
• 2-3 tsp garlic, minced
• ½ cup vegetable oil
• ½ cup extra virgin olive oil
• 4-6 dashes of hot sauce (I used Frank’s – LOVE!)

Directions
Whisk all ingredients together and chill for a little bit before serving.

It is delicious! I think it could be a good marinade too.  It’s light, but wicked flavorful.

Running Recap

So… the past two weeks I haven’t been running as much as I should be running (as seen on my Running Log).  There was one reason for that: PAIN.  I did it to myself though, definitely cannot blame the shoes.  During my shorter runs (two times per week), I decided I was going to increase my speed.  Why?  Why did I decide this?

Because I am a bonehead, that’s why.  There’s no other explanation.

I should have stayed at 6.0 (even 6.2) and let it ride, but instead I went up to 6.5. Halfway through my second time on the new speed, I felt immediate and SHARP pain in my shins and hips.  Needless to say, I stopped short of my target distance and slowly walked the rest.  Argh.

Last week, I tried to run and felt pain no matter what the speed was.  I could barely run one mile without pain.  I even deemed the treadmill as “The Devil”.  I was freaked out knowing that I had my long run coming up on Saturday.  I stretched each night and used my Tiger Tail.  Little-by-little, I started to feel better.  Whew!

My Dad came to visit for the weekend, so when Saturday rolled around we both set out for our exercise of choice.  He had his bike and I had my Mizuno’s.  I did my usual outdoor loop that I’m loving and he went on his own adventure for an hour or so.

I decided to wear my compression socks to see if they made a difference.

(Ummm… am I pulling them on too high… why do I have to roll them over at the top? In photos that I’ve seen, no one else has this problem.  Again, the word “bonehead” is flashing in my mind).

Anyways… they TOTALLY worked!  I literally had ZERO pain in my shins during my run.  It was GLORIOUS!  (Old School, anyone?)

I was pretty cautious during my run.  I slowed down my pace by a full minute, and told myself to ENJOY running.

I forgot to refuel my Gu stash, so I was concerned about being out for 8 miles without anything to replenish my system.  I also did not have any water.  I just can’t imagine carrying water with me (belted or hand strapped).  The thought of adding any additional weight to my body or having to hold something in my hand through my entire run makes me twitch.  It does.

Anyway, the point is that I DID enjoy my run!  The lack of water and Gu chomps didn’t affect me.  I let my mind wander and just mellowed out.  I loved my run!  It was very peaceful, and I wasn’t feeling rundown or worried about the last week’s pain.  I was happy that I was able to run!

After we got back to the house and I showered off all my salty sweat (seriously, the salt flakes off my legs when I’m done running. Hot. I know), I put on my compression sleeves under my jeans to keep the good feeling in my calves/shins going. (EDITED TO ADD: these are the compression socks that I have, and these are the compression sleeves.  I had a great discount code for both that I got from one of my favorite blogs, SkinnyRunner.)

I’m contemplating a fairly pricey pair of compression tights.  They are supposed to do great things for your hips and knees.  However, I’m thinking that I would look pretty crazy (or just plain intense) wearing both tights and compression socks.  I might have to save the compression socks for post-run.

For now, I’m still being very careful to stretch every night and plan to run at a slower pace.  I am also appreciating that my body is healing.  Running at a faster pace is not worth it to muck my body and NOT be able to run.

This past week also taught me that I LOVE my long runs!  I do NOT love the scheduled short runs during the week.  I think it is because I know that I am going to spend a good amount of time on Saturday to run and decompress – “me” time.  During the week, it’s stressful to try and fit my run into the daily grind with grad classes/homework and late work nights.

The long runs, well, they just make me happy!  I can’t wait for Saturday!

True story.

Questions of the Week:

Do you have any new recipes that you are loving right now?

What is your favorite workout gear?

4 thoughts on “Shoe Floozie… and a New Recipe

  1. Pingback: Double Digits « My Healthy Road

  2. Pingback: Game Plan « My Healthy Road

  3. Pingback: The Happiest 5K on the Planet « My Healthy Road

  4. Pingback: The Countdown Is On « My Healthy Road

Leave a Reply

