I’ll Cut Ya

Another busy week is in the books!  Last Wednesday, I went to visit my friend, Bre, at her hair salon.   My hair needed some help… BADLY.  Let me set the scene…

Yup… that pretty much sums it up.  Neglect.  I brought in some pics and told her to just chop it off.  And she did…

 

(Looks like an animal of some sort, no?)

Needless to say, it’s looking much better.   With 8 to 10 inches gone, it’s the shortest I’ve ever had it cut (at least that I can remember).   Now that I’ve had almost a week to play with it, I think I’m a true fan.  I haven’t done it curly yet (which is what my hair naturally is), so I’ll have to play with it over the weekend.   (Plus: it justfits into a pony tail, and with the help of some bobby pins, it stays in place pretty well).

The extra bonus of the night was that she made me dinner!  Sweet!  It was SO good, and wicked fast to make!  I asked her if I could post her recipe on my blog for you guys, and she was all for it.  So here it is:

Sweet and Spicy Salmon Recipe

Courtesy of Bre

 Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 2 tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 salmon filet (skin removed, if desired)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Olive Oil or PAM spray

 

Directions

  1. Preheat broiler on Low.
  2. Set oven rack to second shelf from the top.
  3. Line a broiler pan with aluminum foil and spray with PAM or a light coating of olive oil.
  4. Mix brown sugar andDijonmustard to form a paste (you can adjust these ingredients as desired: for more sweet, add more sugar; for more spice, add more mustard)
  5. Put filet on broiler pan lined with aluminum foil (and sprayed!).  If you kept the skin on, make sure the skin-side is down.
  6. Sprinkle filet with salt and pepper.
  7. Brush sugar/mustard paste onto top of filet.
  8. Broil for 12 minutes, or until cooked through.

 

She served her salmon with a side of whole grain rice pilaf and steamed asparagus.  Delicious meal!

Running Recap

I am up to NINE (9!!!) miles.  Hott d@mn!   I still can’t believe I’m doing it!   It’s starting to be a struggle for me as my knees begin to hurt at about seven miles, but I kept on keepin’ on!

I was even hit on by a 75-year-old man on my run this week!   He was walking the opposite direction as I ran by and told me “you look good… when you run like that.”   Umm… by “that” I’m assuming he meant “like a gazelle.”  Ha.   I guess it’s a good thing that The Husband put a ring on it.  Just sayin’…

 

I also bought some Gu energy shots to try out.

 

I packed the Vanilla flavor with me for my run and took it at about Mile 5. 

How can I put this? 

It’s like putting a spoonful of frosting in your mouth.  The actual taste was okay, but it’s pretty thick.  I had to take it in a few gulps.  It’s kind of like the consistency of toothpaste or a thick Hershey’s syrup.  Maybe if I had water with me it would have made it better… I might have to suck it up and start carrying water with me.

Big plus of my run… no hip pain!  Whoo Hoo!  If I can get my knees figured out, I’ll be golden.  I have been icing, taking Omega3 vitamins and stretching.  After reading this article, my next plan of attack is to add some strength training, specifically for my quads.

Here’s to Double-Digits next week!  Fingers crossed!

Questions of the Day:

When is the last time you changed your hairstyle?

What’s your favorite way to prepare fish?

7 thoughts on “I’ll Cut Ya

  1. Pingback: Double Digits « My Healthy Road

  2. Pingback: Another Year Older, Another Great Adventure Awaits « My Healthy Road

  3. Pingback: I am a Sweaty Beast « My Healthy Road

Leave a Reply

