Put Some Pep In Yo’ Step

Oh boy, do I have a fun app to share with you all! 

My friend, Sita, showed me about Pepper Plate when we were visiting her in New York in June.  She had me hooked within a few minutes!  It’s basically an online cookbook, where you can edit, delete and add new recipes (including photos).  I love it because it syncs up your account between computers, iPads, Kindles and iPhone or Android phones. 

Yes, it’s amazing!  I read a lot of food blogs, and tend to print out an insane amount of recipes that I want to try “someday.”  I take said-recipes and add them into my way-too-stuffed cookbook binder that my aunt gave me.  A few months down the line, I will inevitably take out the cookbook (that now doesn’t close as it’s too jammed packed) and throw away the recipes that I stuffed in there.  Clearly if I haven’t made them by now, I’m not going to remember to make them any time soon.  Plus, I need more room for the new recipes that I’ve printed out.  Aah, the vicious cycle.

Enter Pepper Plate.  This little baby lets me copy and paste recipes from the blogs (or internet searches) directly into my FREE account.  I can also manually enter recipes, upload photos, categorize them and edit the recipe as needed (usually after reading reviews).  Another bonus is that just by pasting the URL it will automatically import the entire recipe and photo from any these sites:

 Quick and easy. 

I love, love, love having my recipes on hand with me all times (via my iPhone).  We don’t really plan out meals for the week because our schedules are so up in the air, so we never know when we’ll be home or not.  It’s great to have the recipes on me, so either one of us can stop at the store on the way home and check the ingredient list to pick up what we need to make dinner.

Another cool feature is that you can actually schedule meals for the week.  If we ever get to a point when we do that, I can just drag the recipe into the calendar feature for the specific date.  It will also pull the ingredients into the shopping list (organized by aisle or recipe) right onto my phone/Kindle/etc.  I can then just go through the fridge and cabinets to delete anything off the list that we already have at home before heading out to the store.

Sita had it hooked up on her Kindle Fire.  She propped it up on the counter, so she was able to refer back to it as she cooked up all the food.  Genius.

Here is a tutorial that I found:

I’m sure there are a hundred other features I’m not using yet, but all-in-all I’m I am seriously loving this app and had to share! 

I know that I will never give up my aunt’s cookbook binder that she gave me.  I have just changed my strategy.  What?  You don’t have a cookbook strategy?!  Even though I uploaded all my recipes into the Pepper Plate, I decided to keep only my Must-Have recipes in my aunt’s cookbook, including my mom’s handwritten recipes (those will be framed someday).   When I see a recipe that I have to try, I just import it into Pepper Plate and am good to go.  No crazy stacks of printed recipes or trying to jam all the recipes in an overstuffed binder (which looks MUCH better now).  I can also easily delete recipes that I tried out, but that just don’t make the cut taste-wise. Pepper Plate, you are magic for my organize-loving soul!

Running Recap

I didn’t make it very far on my Saturday run.  I think I hit about 4 ½ miles before my first walking break.  It was SO hot out and the air is so thick.  Even though I brought my new water bottle holder with me…

Something just wasn’t right.  I slowed down to walk and maybe ran another mile throughout the 8-mile loop, but overall I think I ran maybe 5 ½ miles in total and walked the rest.  I figured it wasn’t worth it to pass out, you know, seeing that I was running solo.

Needless to say, today was a welcomed relief from the heat.  I’m actually looking forward to my cooler run today!

Questions of the Day:

Do you like to cook?  What’s your favorite recipe to make?

My mom and I just made my Grandmother’s cabbage rolls this past week.  Very labor-intensive, but SO worth it (especially when I get to spend the day with my mom)! 

I also made homemade pasta sauce with meatballs and sausage for the first time.  The Husband and I are going to try it out this week.  Fingers crossed!

Do you have one place where you keep all your recipes, or are they jammed all over the place like mine were?

My cooking heart now belongs to Pepper Plate.

7 thoughts on “Put Some Pep In Yo’ Step

  1. Pingback: Hot, Hot, HOT « My Healthy Road

  2. Pingback: Cluck, Cluck « My Healthy Road

  3. My brother suggested I would possibly like this website.
    He used to be totally right. This put up truly made my day.
    You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for
    this info! Thanks!

  4. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

