Cluck, Cluck

Ladies and gentlemen… take note! I actually planned out meals for dinner this week! Holy Hell, right?!

We had a little chicken in our freezer that we need to get rid of soon, so we decided that Sunday was the day. We defrosted him and (thankfully!) The Husband took out all the “goodies” inside. I mean really, they weren’t even in a bag! Just free flying gizzards. I get the heebie jeebies just thinking about it.

Where was I? Oh yes, the defrosted little guy went into my slow cooker (breast-side up – don’t really think it matters) with some water about halfway up and a couple bouillon cubes. I seasoned him up with tons of spices like garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, salt/pepper, thyme, basil, parsley, oregano, etc. We cooked him low and slow for probably seven hours while we were out celebrating my mom’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Mom!).

When we got home, we took the chicken out bit-by-bit as the meat fell right off the bone. We drained the liquid into a tupperware container and put it in the fridge for later. Then we shredded the meat up to have in meals throughout the week (and I got rid of the skin).

I made Chicken Floretine Pasta last night from Cooking Light magazine on the recommendation of my friend, Bre. So good! I don’t think it classifies as “light” if you eat the whole batch between two people. Whoops. Also, here is a quick tip on wilting spinach. If you are cooking pasta with the meal, put the spinach into the colander and drain the pasta over it. The hot cooking liquid will wilt the spinach for you! Neat, huh?

(This is clearly not how mine actually looked. It’s from the recipe link.)

For tonight, I dug into my favorite Pepper Plate app (thanks again, Sita). I made Chicken and Dumplings, which I normally do in the slow cooker. First, I sautéed up some diced onions, carrots, celery and garlic. Next, I added in the stock that we had in the tupperware (I scraped off the fat that was on top) and some of the shredded chicken. I added some water to it as well so it would not be too strong. I also added a bunch of spices (same as above pretty much, but I added cumin and some bay leaves to the mix too). Finally, I mixed 3 tbsp of cornstarch with 3 tbsp of water – shook together in a small covered container so they combined fully – and poured it into the pot to thicken it a bit. I cooked the whole thing over medium heat (rolling boil) for about 30 minutes while I waited for The Husband to get home (it doesn’t have to cook that long). I kept the cover cracked on it.

It is really dark from using stock instead of broth. Also, don’t mind my messy stove.

Once he arrived, I took out the Pillsbury Croissants (or you can use biscuits) from the fridge. I plucked off about a thumb-sized amount and tossed it into the pot (use the whole tube of raw dough). I sort of push them down under the liquid if they will stay. Then I cover them with some more spices.

I let that cook for another 20-30 minutes or so until the dough is cooked (it will golden brown). I put the cover on it (cracked) for the last 10 minutes. Then it was time to eat!

Tomorrow, I think I’m going to make some chicken, broccoli and ziti using this alfredo recipe from All Recipes (making it a little healthier where I can). Thursday, I think I’m going to go with my own version of Hungry Girl’s Chicken Pot Pie recipe. It changes every time I make it, but it is loosely based on that recipe. Friday, well, I’ll need to see if we have any chicken left AND find out if The Husband (a lover of red meat) will let us go an entire week eating only chicken. I’m going to go with no. Wish me luck in my Chicken Recipe Week!

Questions of the Day:

What is your favorite go-to meal during the week?

Anything that is fast and simple! We are time-crunched people over here!

Do you have any chicken recipes that you want to share?

Sorry, Bre. I took yours.

4 thoughts on “Cluck, Cluck

  1. I throw cubed chicken breast into a frying pan with some water and a splash of olive oil. Cook that through, while that is cooking I cook a pasta. When both are cooked I combine them and throw in diced tomatoes and broccoli (I use the frozen steam bags of broccoli) shake some Parmesan cheese on it and serve, both the kids and hubby love it! And I love it because prep/cooking time is about 20min total

  2. Maybe you do all this already but,….
    I know you strained the broth prior to putting in fridge., but don’t forget that step. After the broth has cooled in the fridge, Skim off the fat on top for a much healthier soup broth base.
    When I make the chicken soup I usually add carrots, celery and onions with sometimes garlic. (Left over green beans and corn… if there is any) I usually cook the onions, celery, and garlic in a small amount of oil before putting in broth to cook further with the carrots and other vegis, but sometimes I am too lazy to dirty another pan and just throw them in the pot and let it simmer. (Mrs. Dash Garlic and herb is a good add in though I am heavy handed with basil and chicken seasoning too.
    Cook noodles or rice in their own pot on the side not in the soup and store them that way as well or you will end up with mush. I just run hot water over themand add them to the soup I am heating up. Yum!! Especially good when you don’t feel well.
    I cheat and buy the store cooked chicken and throw in a pot of water with bouillion cubes to create the broth.
    Way too long a post!!! Long winded!

Leave a Reply

