Get some, B! Get some!

Oh my word.  Jillian Michaels is CRAZY!  Thirteen days ago I started the Ripped in 30 DVD.  I’m still running four miles a couple times a week, but I wanted to get my upper body toned up.  Little did I know that Jillian had a different plan in mind.

Ripped in 30 has four different levels, and she suggests doing each level for ten days.  The levels are 24 minutes each and broken down into 3 segments.  Each segment has 3 minutes of strength (3 different moves, do each move twice), 2 minutes of cardio (2 different moves, do each move twice), and 1 minute of abs (2 different moves, do each move once).  It is quick, but definitely kicks my ass!  My goal is go straight through until Thanksgiving.

Level 1 wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be because I had done the 30 Day Shred DVD before, but don’t get me wrong, it was still rough.   Level 2 started, and my body went into shock.  Good God, Jillian.  Really?!  Crow push-ups.

Source

My arms were SCREAMING.  It is starting to get a little easier, but now I’m getting nervous for Level 3. I was even able to run one of the days in the past week.  It just happened to be Day 1 of Level 2.  Gah!  Talk about Jell-O legs.  I would love to be able to do some sort of cardio every day, but it probably won’t work out.  Here’s hoping though!  I will be tracking my workouts on this log.

I also started using the Lose It! App.  I found it a little while ago, but hadn’t used it.  It’s an easy to use app that is like an online food journal. 

I have been tracking my food intake for about a week now and I really like it.  It saves my food choices, allows you to scan the barcodes of foods and lets you add in exercise as well.  The set-up is really easy to use, but the only addition is that I wish that it tracked how many daily servings I had of vegetables, fruit, dairy, grains and protein.

I’m well on my way to Level 3.  I’ll be back in ten days with an update!

My Stats

  • Down 2 lbs from my starting weight
  • Definitely feeling stronger
  • My shoulders are sore, which is good because they are weakest part of my body
  • Squat thrusts, mountain climbers and plank jacks are the devil

(If you are wondering who “B” is, pick up the DVD and “Get some!”)


Questions of the Day:

What is your favorite type of workout?

Do you have a new app that you are loving?  What is it?

3 thoughts on “Get some, B! Get some!

Leave a Reply

